Oshkosh Airventure 2011 Video

Short edit of some footage I shot at the Oshkosh Airshow this year with a Canon T2i. There’s also some Canon HFS20 footage at the end.

I used Premiere Pro to edit this (my favorite editor, though Avid Media Composer is great too). Then I used dynamic link to take my timeline into After Effects for color grading and motion stabilization. Being able to move right into After Effects instantly is what sold me on Premiere. Since buying Premiere I’m no longer satisfied by editing something, doing some quick color correction and exporting. I love being able to go into After Effects and tweak everything to get it to be just right.

Mocha for After Effects, a planar-motion tracking program that is bundled with After Effects, is also a favorite app of mine. I used Mocha in this video to track the title in at the beginning, and to do a quick roto to remove a person I found distracting from the background of the Luftwaffe reenactors shot. There’s one still image in the video; see if you can guess where it is. To make it appear to be video I tracked the camera shake from a different shot and applied it to the photo to give the illusion of being video.

The Warp Stabilizer plugin in After Effects really impressed me. This was the first time I had used it heavily on a project and it really performed beyond my expectations. It really is a one-click solution 90% of the time. Warp Stabilizer was crucial for this project because I shot everything handheld so I wouldn’t have to carry a monopod everywhere.

Even though it was just for fun I’m very pleased with how the project turned out.

